6/7 Run — Hot!

I ran earlier in the morning because I had a bunch of work stuff going on in the afternoon.  I somehow woke up at 5 in the morning, again.  The forecast was a high of 97 degrees, and it was already getting up there by seven or eight.  I took off about at 9am.  It was still so hot, but I ran anyway.  I am now listening to Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind.  The first part of my run felt really good.  I was picking my knees up good.  No slogging here.  But as the run went on and the heat kicked in, I started slogging.  At least I did it though, right?  I think that’s an accomplishment for sure.  I had a little taste of throw up in the back of my mouth.  This was before the run too.  No idea why, but it’s gross and I kinda felt sick.  This was part of the reason I made a conscious effort to take it easy and not push it.  This wasn’t the day to be throwing up on the side of the road.  I knew that I might be at chance for some sort of heat stroke, especially with running.  It was really nice to have my run done in the morning.  It’s a big thing that I need to do every day, and I’m always having to mentally prepare throughout the day.  “Oh, yeah, I still need to go for a run.  Can’t forget that.”  But now my thoughts were more along the lines of, “Hey, I already got my run in!”

Leave a Reply

